Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• so i got my wiseco's

got my wiseco's today and my scat rods

have a couple questions--btw this is my first time putting pistons in a engine [img]{SMILIES_PATH}/biggrin.gif[/img]

my pistons are stock bore so i'm going to rehone the cylinders, i'm told theres a certain limit i have to go for the rings for when they are heated. so i'm not sure how much to hone the cylinder. any help would be great

Russ
    2000 sl2 5 speed *for sale*<br />1998 SC2 forged motor, turbo sold<br />1992 sc2 turbo sold

If the rings are "file to fit" then you will have to file the rings.

If yo have a stock bore piston, thne run the hone with 20-25 strokes an it should be ok.

If you are worried about it, you can have a machine shop do it and install/assemble the lower end.
    -6S Resident Mechanical Forensics member #001.
    1995 SC2 Turbo 3.6L DOHC, 6sp manual, Ford 8.8 rearend running on MS3x.
    1998 F-250 5.4L triton...stock.

Comment

Ohh, there sould be paper work provided that tells you recommended piston to wall clearance and ring gap recommendations.
      -6S Resident Mechanical Forensics member #001.
      1995 SC2 Turbo 3.6L DOHC, 6sp manual, Ford 8.8 rearend running on MS3x.
      1998 F-250 5.4L triton...stock.

Comment

mybad i just got home and looked at the papers

i will scan them and post here in about 10 mins
        2000 sl2 5 speed *for sale*<br />1998 SC2 forged motor, turbo sold<br />1992 sc2 turbo sold

Comment

i'll prolly just have the machine shop do it so i know its done right and then get everything balanced

i am learning tho [img]{SMILIES_PATH}/biggrin.gif[/img]

Comment