ENGINE SWAP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ENGINE SWAP

Ok guys I'm having to replace my motor (spun a rod bearing at 59K miles). Its for a 2002 SL2 dohc. What kinds of upgrades or mods should I do while I have the replacement engine out? This is my first time trying to mod a saturn even though its my 3rd one. Any help is appriciated.

depends on your goals/budget. Start by listing those. Then we can help you better

Comment

Originally posted by SupraCharged007
      depends on your goals/budget. Start by listing those. Then we can help you better
      also do you have anything at all on it? i know you said its your first time trying to mod it, didn't know if you had something like an intake yet?

if you have cash there's some stuff to be done, like a ported and polished head, cams, header, cat back exhaust. theres lots of other little crap you can do to make it a more fun car to drive.
      98 SL2m - Intake, Raceland coilovers, daily driver
      94 SW2a>m - slammed and boosted 9 PSI - sloppymechanics.com inspired. Now owned by Importsdontlikeme.
      94 SC2m - Build in progress, Ford EDIS, 720cc's, stock engine, MS2v3.57 7 on the road again

Comment

I've got about $1k to put into it. I'm wanting to keep it kinda mild as its a dd and I drive 60 miles round trip. Since I now have two complete motors I was considering doing the dual intake cam mod (and since its a 3 gen head no grinding envolved). And possibly taking the spare head and trying to port and polish it myself. I know the 3rd gen motors have a lot of extra pollution controls on them that also brings down the mpg as compared to the 2nd gen. Is it possible to remove some of that stuff to increase the mpg so I can have more power yet not compromise my mpg?

Comment

If you have it apart the 2cam idea isn't bad, but for a better gain you may want to use performance cams.
          sigpic

Comment